Information, reviews and public commentary for US companies

 

Groupon, Inc.

Rating
0.28125
Web
http://www.groupon.com
Address
600 W. Chicago Ave., Ste. 620
Chicago, IL
60654
Contact
Andrew Mason
Role
CEO and Director
Phone
(312) 676-5773
Fax
(312) 676-2728
Employees
11,471
Twitter IDs
@Groupon
General profile image

Nona - 1 d 7 h ago

0

I am attaching the, over one hour, customer service chats on live chats. Everyone one of them is incompetent. I need help. You got rid of your wonderful customer service department to give us the nightmare of LIVE CHAT. 'HERE THEY GO. I STILL HAVE NO RESOLUTION AFTER MORE THAN 90 MINUTES.. FIRST CONVERSATION: [nona sherak] Issue: your phone number does not work. I need help. A promo code does not work for High Maintenance Salon in Bordentown, nj. It does not exclude the purchase from a coupon. What should I do? The code is sale3. [Zuraida A] Thank you for contacting Customer Support. My name is Zuraida A [nona sherak] Are you there? It is bad enough that we can no longer call, but it would be nice if I knew you were there. [Zuraida A] Hi Nona, thanks for your patience. [Zuraida A] Let me assist you today. [Zuraida A] May I have the link of the deal page, please? [nona sherak] You can look it up. It is High Maintenance Salon in Bordentown, NJ. I don't know what link you are talking about. [Zuraida A] Are you referring to this dealhttps://www.groupon.com/deals/high-maintenance-salon-8 ? [nona sherak] I don't know. I will open the link. [nona sherak] It does not let me open it. I have to paste and copy and because it is on two lines in won't work. You have to do better than that. I am very unhappy that we can no longer call, live chat is horrible. [Zuraida A] [Opened: https://www.groupon.com/deals/high-maintenance-salon-8e] [Zuraida A] Can you click on that link? [nona sherak] That just comes up a sale page, it does not include High Maintenance Salon. [nona sherak] This would have been done already if I could have called. [Zuraida A] Upon checking, this deal eligible for the promo code SALE3 [Zuraida A] You can add the code at the checkout page. [nona sherak] It doesn't work. [nona sherak] I will try when I am chatting with you. [nona sherak] Thank you, it worked that time. Did you do something? [nona sherak] It never told me how much I payed for it. I did not get the completion page. I really am annoyed. [Zuraida A] That's perfect [nona sherak] It is not perfect. I would have liked to see the purchase page. There was none at the end. [nona sherak] How much did I pay? [Zuraida A] Let me check first. [Zuraida A] Upon checking, you did not apply the code, Nona. [Zuraida A] This is for$25.00 [nona sherak] I did apply the code and I did it more than once. Please cancel the order or credit me $5. I would have been done 10 minutes ago if I could have called. Are you guys in the Philippines? [Zuraida A] Do you want to trade in your voucher or get a full refund? [Zuraida A] This is forgs-caseology-clear-case-for-iphone-7-7-plus-6-5-galaxy-s6, am I right? [nona sherak] I am not stupid, I want to purchase this and you are not doing your job. Is there someone else I can chat with? I don't know what trade in your voucher is and once I use my Groupon bucks up I will never buy from you again. There is no customer service anymore. This is not customer service. Please credit me the amount of the discount, which is five dollars and I will keep the Groupon. If you can't figure that out, please ask for help. [Zuraida A] Not forHigh Maintenance Salon. [nona sherak] No it isn't. I looked at my Groupons and it is for the salon. You are looking at the wrong person. You have no idea how to fix this, do you? [nona sherak] PLEASE GET ME A SUPERVISOR!!!!!!!! [Zuraida A] Please hold on a minute. [Malvinder S] Hello Nona. [Malvinder S] I am Malvin here, the manager in charge for today [nona sherak] Mailvinder, did Zuraida, who has not idea what she is doing, explain what is happening? [Malvinder S] may i know the promo code that you are using [nona sherak] sale3, She told me I bought a case for a phone that I do not have. She needs retraining. She is awful. If you can read the whole conversation, you will see that she told me the purchase was eligible. I tried to put the code it and it just completed the sale without me confirming it. When I asked her what I paid, she had the nerve to tell me that I didn't put the code in. I put it in more than once. [Malvinder S] I am really sorry for the inconvenience caused here, a moment and i will go through the conversation. [nona sherak] Now this has taken almost an hour of my time. Type a message [Malvinder S] I am really sorry for the inconvenience caused here, a moment and i will go through the conversation. [nona sherak] Now this has taken almost an hour of my time. [nona sherak] Are you there? [nona sherak] I hope you have not abandoned this conversation. I have copied all of it and am emailing it to Groupon. I suggest you get back to me soon. [nona sherak] Groupon, I have waited over 10 minutes for Malvin to get back to me. I think he has abandoned the call. This is the type of Customer Service that you have now. I would go back to the phone calls. This is horrible. Over an hour waiting for two people, one who is incompetent, that the other who is, supposedly a supervisor, and abandons a customer. What a group you hired. [nona sherak] Malvinder S, I am filing a complaint about you and Zuraida A. It was not a good choice for you to abandon this conversation. [nona sherak] Issue: I have been chatting with two incompetent customer service reps for over an hour. I want help. Order #: 760236273 Deal concerned: high-maintenance-salon-6 [Gino A] Thank you for contacting Customer Support. My name is Gino A [nona sherak] Gino, is it possible to go into my account and see what I have already discussed with the other reps or can I attach the conversation? [Gino A] let me look into that [nona sherak] Please do not take care of someone else at the same time. This has been over an hour for me. [Gino A] so your saying that your promo code didnt apply? [nona sherak] Yes, and I was told that I did not put it in. And your, so called, supervisor disappeared on purpose. I asked Zuraida to credit me $5, which was the amount I would have saved, but she couldn't figure that out. [Gino A] yes this deal is eligible for promo codes but you failed to apply it but no worries I can cancel this order and you can repurchase it using the promo code [nona sherak] I did not fail to apply it. It does not work. [nona sherak] Please cancel the order and I will try to repurchase it while I am chatting with you. [Gino A] but still this deal is eligible for promotions and the only option that we have is to cancel this deal and re purchase it and use the promo code [nona sherak] I don't believe that, you can credit me $5. [Gino A] I've cancel it and you can try and repurchase it [Gino A] sorry but we can do that [nona sherak] I am trying now. [Gino A] we are not allowed to credit Groupon bucks in scenarios like this [nona sherak] It does not work and please don't tell me that I didn't apply it. [nona sherak] It is telling me that since I already bought it before, I can't use it again. This is pathetic. The operator has ended the chat. Thanks for contacting us. So what do you do when you buy something from a company that actually has not customer service?

General profile image

N Henry - 11 d 12 h ago

1

Not sure what to think! Is the company bankrupted? No customer service! not a number to call! I am not sure I can trust the organization especially after reading the comments. Not sure what your vision is either. I am losing trust.

General profile image

Group-Off - 1 d 15 h ago

0

Losing???

General profile image

Carly Blank - 4 d 5 h ago

0

Dear Groupon,

I am writing to you because I am deeply disappointed in your customer service department and would like a refund. I am a long-standing customer (5+ years) and have bought many Groupons (28+) personally and recommend your site to many family and friends. I have never had issues with Groupon before and never had any disputes until now.

On June 16, 2017, I purchased two tickets to the Dinner Detective (https://www.groupon.com/deals/gl-the-dinner-detective-cincinnati-3) for $80.00. I went to their site right away and saw there were no dates that would work for our trip to Cincinnati, OH. I immediately went back to Groupon and requested two refunds well within my refund time. Both pages said they would send my refund request to Groupon.

I checked my email and never received a confirmation email from Groupon. I did not think anything of it since many times it takes a few days for request to go through, especially since I paid through a third party, Paypal. I never received an email, so I figured it must have been deleted or went to spam so I checked my Paypal account today, June 20 2017. Paypal showed that my $80.00 was never refunded.

I called Groupon right away to seek help with the refund since the website never sent the request through. I spoke with two separate customer service representatives and then a supervisor. None were able to help me. They all said I missed the refund time and they could not do anything. The supervisor and one customer service agent told me I should have checked my email immediately to tell them I didn't receive my refund right away. Unfortunately, I had too much faith in Groupon's website and failed to see something went wrong in under 12 hours. I asked to speak to someone above the supervisor about my claim, but she told me I would have to write a letter to headquarters instead.

Consequently, I am writing to Groupon Headquarters to now seek help. I am extremely disappointed that a company would treat a long standing, faithful customer this poorly due to their website malfunctioning. I am not surprised though after doing research in contacting Groupon that I saw how poorly Groupon is rated on various sites (two stars was the average I saw). Many people have the same complaint I do and it does not appear the company is doing anything to help keep customers.

I would really like to continue to recommend and use Groupon with the hopes of a full refund or Groupon credit. However, if my request fails to be answered, Groupon will lose yet another respectable customer and I will never recommend the website to anyone.

Please consider my status as a loyal customer and grant my refund request.

Sincerely,

Carly Blank

General profile image

Seller on groupon - 3 d 18 h ago

1

Can't reach offices to get paid

General profile image

Group-Off - 1 d 15 h ago

0

HA ha ha! Good luck with that.

General profile image

Mikiko Coverdale - 3 d 13 h ago

Dear Mr. Mason,

Though I canceled my purchases and talked to 3 customer service (Crage/Christy/Bill) on 5/12, as of yesterday (6/20) I still had not received the refunds. So I went to the Groupon Seattle office but no one helped me,instead they gave me your 1-(hidden) which I called more than 10 times.

I'd like to cancel my groupon account. Please let me know how I can do this. Thank you for your time.

General profile image

group-off - 1 d 15 h ago

0

Can we say "class action suit."

General profile image

Anonymous - 2 d 12 h ago

I have purchased Several Groupins over the years with most experiences I Love. Today I tried to at LEAST get a credit on my expired Groupons that the merchants kept canceling my appointments!! The representative tells me because it's expired there is NOTHING he can do!! This is unacceptable!! I can see not giving me a refund!! But to tell me I've Lost my money when it wasnt my fault! Groupon should be ashamed not trying to accommodate ppl who spend hard earned money!!

General profile image

FRAN F. - 2 d 11 h ago

3

I AM A LONG TIME GROUPON USER...

LETELY THO, SINCE YOU HAVE CLOSED ALL PHONE COMMUNICATION, MY FRUSTATION IS MOUNTING...I'LL HELP PAY THE PHONE COSTS IF THAT WIL HELP...I HAVE TRIED FILLING OUT YOUR FORMS...TO NO AVAIL...HOW DO I GET TO SPEAK TO A REP????

General profile image

Group- - 1 d 15 h ago

Evidently you don't. Maybe after their stock plummets they will start answering the phone.

Meanwhile, everyone cash out their shares.

General profile image

Group-Off - 1 d 15 h ago

0

This site is obviously for bitching and gripping. It does no good, of course. Groupon is obviously just a profit center organization. i wager that not a single person has received a reply. After reading the three following submissions to this site, I will not waste my time again with Groupon and I will never recommend it to anyone. Here's what I'm talking about: 1. NO PHONE/NO BUY GROUPON ANYMORE! if YOU CANNOT HAVE A HUMAN SPEAK TO ME then I am no longer going to be a customer - stupid move! 2. Value of what you pay is never supposed to expire so I asked for Groupon bucks to use for the expired ones and the chat operator said no refunds no exchanges then closed chat on me poor customer service. 3. I have purchased Several Groupons over the years with most experiences I Love. Today I tried to at LEAST get a credit on my expired Groupons that the merchants kept canceling my appointments!! The representative tells me because it's expired there is NOTHING he can do!! This is unacceptable!! I can see not giving me a refund!! But to tell me I've Lost my money when it wasn't my fault! Groupon should be ashamed not trying to accommodate people who spend hard earned money!! PS. Try to call any Groupon number. All you hear 24 X 7 is a busy tone. They suck

General profile image

QUIT GROUPON FOREVER - 2 d 10 h ago

1

NO PHONE/NO BUY GROUPON ANYMORE! if YOU CANNOT HAVE A HUMAN SPEAK TO ME then I am no longer going to be a customer - stupid move!

General profile image

Khisha - 2 d 11 h ago

0

Value of what you pay is never supposed to expire so I asked for Groupon bucks to use for the expired ones and the chat operator said no refunds no exchanges then closed chat on me poor customer service

General profile image

Gneal - 7 d 13 h ago

0

I use to love groupon. I see everyone is having the same problem. They will not respond to a wrong order and there phone does not work. Getting rid of the app and done doing business with them. They will be on the news soon I'm sure. I tried for two weeks to return a item but can't get customer service or a phone that works. They are shady

General profile image

Jill - 3 d ago

0

Happened to me too. They have my money and won't help me purchase anything because I keep getting an error message when I try to make a purchase. That's FRAUD and against the law

General profile image

Fortune - 3 d 13 h ago

0

I need ti speak with someone about an order that I received from Groupon Goods. They are two tops. I do not like the material and want to return them. Your company makes this very diffricult. I called several different numbers with people who dont speak english well and two of them hung up on me. I finally got another number from them and it is no longer in use. Believe me after this I do not want to deal with Groupon because of their terrible service. I realize that you want to make money..with the very minimal amount to contact...if any with your customers. I do not want to join Groupon. I just want to return my products.

General profile image

Ms. Loving - 3 d 14 h ago

Dear Andrew Mason

I am writing you to inform you that my voucher you sent me for the the hammond food deal to use by the 4th of july he would not except it. I was told he cant buzzer it so I said here is the xerox copy for you to keep he then said you have to bring your whole family I told him there in the car. I was then told I needed the app. Then I was confused I told him when I go to the concerts I give the xerox copy and their is no problem tried to call you and I was dissapointed the phone was not in service what am I to do. I ve tried to do the customer service once your sign in it just keeps buffering tried the app to press for the live chat nothing . pleases contact me Ms. Loving at my e-mail (hidden).

General profile image

Seller on amazon - 3 d 18 h ago

2

I'm a seller and have not been paid for 30 days thinking of dropping out.

General profile image

robanna4 - 4 d 15 h ago

1

My transaction date for groupon was on 06/02/17 i have not been able to redeem and print.

my acct is (hidden) i have been catting with customer since 06/06/17 with no result

i would like a phone number that works to speak personally with a representative to correct issues with orders.do not want to do thru computer !!! the lack of customer service should be addressed. Right now your rating is pretty low in customer service.

General profile image

Never again - 4 d 16 h ago

0

Sent to package back and they claim they don't have it. They have no way to contact customer service on the phone to resolve issues like EBay and Amazon. Buyer beware they use third party vendors.

General profile image

Sandy Christian - 4 d 15 h ago

0

I agree, never again !!!!!

General profile image

Sandy christian - 4 d 15 h ago

0

Never will order again after I get this disaster straightened out!! And it better or Bbb getting a call.

General profile image

Pl - 5 d 18 h ago

0

Will never use groupon again!! Charged me for a hotel I never booked!! Chat lady said my iPhone must have done it. Sometimes it just books it she said! Wth!!!

General profile image

Melissa H - 7 d 7 h ago

0

Really used to love Groupon, sadly my perspective has changed. My entire family is ill with the flu and would not (despite many attempts of trying to speak to OnLy ONe person in "customer service) give me a refund since it was a specific circumstance. I was emailed almost 10 times by SEPARATe individuals who kept giving me different answers. All I was is my $40 back.

Other Reviews & Comments

Honda Motor Company
Anna Honda corporates, I am writing in regards to HORRIBLE lease ... 

Domino's Pizza, Inc.
Julie Brown I have Celiac so whenever I order pizza I order the Gluten  ... 

Bank of America Corporation
SW I just received notice that anyone cashing my check in exce ... 

Dollar General
Good person I work at the dollarstore in adairsville ga i like my job b ... 

J. C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
Anonymous time to file a class action lawsuit.

Circle K Stores Inc
Dustin young Ever time I go to the circle k pensacola fl gulf beach high ... 

Costco
Anonymous My family shops at COSTCO, Brick, NJ and today I met Jason  ... 

Taco Bell Corp.
Steve Hey Phil, because they know fools like you will pay it, I t ... 

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.
Tito How would a hard working man age 26 father of 3 get a job a ... 

TGI Friday's
Lynne We arrived at my local Fridays restsurant today at 7;15 p.m ... 

Fox News Network, LLC
I.S.I.S. needs more "specially delievered" M.O.A.B.s Without intending to "haggle" I'm reminded of ano ... 

Great Clips, Inc.
Anonymous Stop complaining! You knew the salon closed at 7!!!! Why wa ... 

Dish Network
donald f wagner There is no reply that I can see. Leads me to wonder if Dis ... 

Walgreens
Justice There are some serious employee discrimination going on at  ... 

Hulu LLC
Sam There are no black shows from back in the day. I love white ... 

Outback Steakhouse
Debbie Ok where to begin....

American Express Company
Ms T I would like to go on record saying that this has been the  ... 

AT&T
Omar and Tisha Calcador I have been waiting on a call to correct my bill for over a ... 

Church's Chicken
Notpaid I am in need of help.. I was employed by Churches Chicken.  ... 

McDonald's Corporation
Frank You must check out your location on Marco islandf,fl. We ha ... 

Panera Bread
Annette I went to your location #3218 located in Davenport, Iowa. I ... 

Safeway, Inc.
Patience Ditto on Anonymous' comment.

The Home Depot, Inc.
Carlos Dear Sir/Madam, The motive of these lines is to elevate to  ... 

Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc.
Joanne I became a DCH Wappingers Falls, NY Toyota patron in Januar ... 

eBay, Inc.
Anonymous That's probably the best thing, I had the same problems. Go ... 

Lg Electronics USA
Anonymous Write the Attorney General about your problems, it's the be ... 

Food Network
barbara Very disappointed. I have been unable to print recipes and  ... 

Days Inn Worldwide, Inc.
Michelle If your going to have an upper level.....there should be an ... 

Ross Stores
DrJerold Saturday afternoon. 25+ people on line to check out. 2 regi ... 

Cricket Communications, Inc.
Sorry I didn't log in but this is my post (hidden)

T-Mobile USA, Inc.
Rena White I don't know where to start with this company. I have been  ... 

Aeropostale
Gm Enterprises Hello!

Rent a Center
Mays Rent a center on Garth road has had me wait all day at home ... 

AppleBee's
Disappointed customer! I've been to the Applebees on Hudson ny several times. I ha ... 

Cox Communications, Inc.
Debbie Flynn Do you remember her first name?

Amazon
Anonymous Sir your site is very bad impact on me it is second time wh ... 

Pep Boys
Playingitsafe How is it that I was told 2hour wait right off the bat when ... 

Whole Foods Market, Inc.
chcltmkr Whole foods is known for your quality. This amazon purchase ... 

Enterprise Holdings, Inc.
Kk Were you able to find CEO number? I have a similar issue

American Airlines
Vigilante Very poor customer relations and lack of organization. Abso ... 

Toys R Us
Anna Wow, I am dealing with the same trouble here in Florida wit ... 

Rooms To Go
Dave Wilson This is the second couch I have purchased and this one did' ... 

Jo-Ann Stores, Inc.
Mrs. Bell In my 50 yrs of sewing, I have shopped at a variety of stor ... 

Denny's
Leta Waiters, Waitress,& Cooks improperly handles food prepa ... 

LA Fitness
Silver Spring LA Fitness is a Huge Disappointment LA Fitness in Silver Spring was closed for renovation and w ... 

Dick's Sporting Goods
Emily The manager gabe serially harassed a worker at the rim in S ... 

Southwest Airlines Co.
eila made flight to my connection but took me to another connect ... 

Yahoo! Inc.
log me in I am not able to log into my yahoo account . I no longer ha ... 

Old Navy
Jazzmin Today I went to the old navy flip $1 sale I had 20 flip flo ... 

MetroPCS Communications, Inc.
Duh You should probably live in Mexico or learn to speak, read, ... 

Placeholder advertisement