Information, reviews and public commentary for US companies

 

Rent a Center

Rating
0.397059
Web
http://www.rentacenter.com
Address
5501 Headquarters Dr.
Plano, TX
75024
Contact
Mark Speese
Role
Chairman and CEO
Phone
(972) 801-1100
Fax
(866) 260-1424
Employees
19,700
Twitter IDs
@RentACenter
General profile image

Anonymous - 6 h ago

We have done business with the West Ridge Road Rent a Center for a few years now and just recently purchased a fireplace from them. The service and run around we have been experiencing this time around is inexcusable. We were given a delivery date and time frame and told three hours after the time quoted that only part of our fireplace was in. They delivered that part and were told it would take another 2 weeks for the insert to be in. 2 weeks later it came in and was supposed to be delivered in a Saturday. We were once again quoted a time and when that time expired we called the store and were told they forgot about us. They said we would get it first thing the next day. Once again they were 4 hours late and were still missing a piece. We just called to get that piece 2 weeks later and were once again given a time for delivery. We told them we needed it delivered before 2 as we were having company for dinner. They never showed. We called and were told they would come right away, the delivery person came 2 hours later as our company was arriving. I am very dissatisfied wit their customer service especially for a repeat customer with execelleny payment history. We should've gone to Big Lots instead.

General profile image

Anonymous - 1 d 16 h ago

1

MANAGER IN PALM COAST IS THE RUDEST PERSON EVER.

General profile image

Anonymous - 1 d 14 h ago

1

I have been with rac for many years. I rent from the palm coast location. Well i must say the new manager that comes in needs to learn some manners and not think he can talk to anyone how he feels i know its his job to handle the acct but he needs to learn how to speak to people. One of the wmployees said i needes to call corp on him becauae it waa ridiculous how he spoke ro me. Something needs ro be done about his customer service skills or i will be going to one of ther competitor.

General profile image

Anonymous - 2 d 13 h ago

2

I bought a bed room suit a year ago, this is what it look like now. Brought mix match mattress to my home. And had attitude about me complaining.

General profile image

FUTURE LAWYER IN CONTRACT LAW - 2 d 14 h ago

1

Well the people I dealt with at the hillcroft st store in houston tx are very unprofessional. Suppose to have my tv delivered between 2-4 pm yesterday. Never came. I have called four times about my tv delivery. The lady told me she would call me back. Well at 7:00 pm I called again then Ms. Gomez tells me the delivery guy was in an accident at 4:00 pm. Three hours later they tell me this!!!!! That is ridiculous. I probably will file a lawsuit for BREACH OF CONTRACT BOTH VERBAL AND WRITTEN. I am a pre-law student and I know CONTRACT LAW. Why not have backup delivery personnel in the stores? Why not have PROFESSIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSONNEL instead of RUDE NON-CARING INDIVIDUALS!!!!

General profile image

Pissedhillbilly - 3 d 4 h ago

0

I had contacted the company to come get their appliances and waited for 3 days..nobody showed up...soon after I had to move out of state...since they didn't come pick up what was theirs when scheduled their stuff was left at the old address...they keep calling and harassing me and my girlfriend...my girlfriend's phone number was not given to them by us so they illegally got her number from a former employer...we get two calls a day and voicemail after voicemail...the harassment must stop before I do some West Virginia shit

General profile image

Anonymous - 3 d 12 h ago

Can some please call me back to speaking to me about a serious matter pertaining to both of your stores on 95th and Jeffrey and 71st and Jeffrey thank you so very much my number is (hidden) my name is Alberta Craig

General profile image

Anonymous - 5 d 14 h ago

0

Rent a center is COMPLETE rip off I order a bed room group TWO WEEKS ago sat in the office did all the paper work put deposit down and here I am still sleeping on the floor I call Anna EVERYDAY to see what's going on and she tells me that they have to go pick up the bed from the warehouse that's been ready for pick up and delivery stay away that will take your deposit keep it and you end up with NOTHING!!!!

General profile image

Anonymous - 6 d ago

Rent center has no people skills when they are to fix something it never gets done they even want you to pay and keep paying when they bring you something that doesn't work

General profile image

Justin Nantell (former assistant sales manager) - 7 d 7 h ago

1

Email sent to D.M. of store 0982 Auburn Ca. (reason for resigning) Print all In new window Thank you Justin Nantell 2:06 PM (1 minute ago) Hello Sue, I just wanted to reach out and say thank you for the opportunity that you had so kindly offered me, tho it came as a surprise that neither Rosa or yourself had reached out to me to find the reasoning for my resigning. Although I was informed upon RAC hiring me that I was responsible for a list of daily tasks and responsibility's as well as performing the daily tasks and responsibility's of every other position within the company (credit, deliveries, pickup/returns, cleaning, assembly, and "runs"etc.) I was never told that a majority of my job was telemarketing, door to door "courtesy visits" b2b or "flyering" I did not have any major complaints about this and I was all for participating and making it happen except for when my Integrity was questioned which i take very seriously and live my life by. I learned the reasoning and importance of Integrity while in the United States Air Force. I worked very hard for Rent A Center and went as far as handing out flyers, b2b visits and "blasting" on social media our specials and promos all on my own personal time. I would work during lunch hours so as not to be questioned why there were no sales and/or was not meeting quota for our SLTs of 200+. I find it hard to believe that any one person can make this many "legit" phone calls ( apologies for the lack of terms) while preforming their daily tasks, selling and working with walk ins, working the green book at the same time and researching and locating possible customers wants and needs. I can guarantee that no other store was making this many phone calls and if they were It was simply because they were just clicking right through the list and this is one area in which my integrity comes in. You can feel free to ask any of my previous co workers and find that I truly was making my calls which included SLT's and PIF's as well as any other "paper list" that was presented to me. I was surprised by the fact that I was asked to show proof a "paper trail" of my calls as well as being told to collect other store managers contact info. so Rosa could "fallow up" or in my opinion this was to make sure I was actually handing out flyers which is very difficult to do as requesting another place of business to advertise for us was not enough, having them give me their contact info was beyond ridiculous and again questioning my integruty. I would miss the opportunity of possible sales because I was assigned these Telemarketing duties, sent out on deliveries, collections or pick-ups or even would be sent out flyering. I do understand that this is all a part of the RAC way but due to poor management and the lack or delegating skills by the store manager, I simply did not have enough hours in the day to accomplish all these tasks on my own while others would take 3-4 hours on a simple delivery that should of and could of been done in half that time. The reasoning behind this "to stay out of the store as long as possible" and the dis-like of making SLT calls which was said to me by coworkers on more than one occasion and was brought to Rosas attention by myself. The only one of my coworkers that I could say put in an honest effort was Kaleb, who in my opinion is great employee and does his best at accomplishing his daily tasks as well, and quite honestly I'm surprised he is still working for the company considering his daily commute and poor wages and in my opinion should be praised for his efforts before store 982 loses another great employee. I could go on but I will not tie up your day as I am sure you have a lot of work to do but I will end on this. I truly did want to complete my management training and grow with the Rent-A-Center team, however, even after giving up a great paying job to take a pay cut and move forward as a RAC assistant sales manager, I could not put up with the unprofessional ways and the false accusations of the theft of a T.V. nor could I continue while being baby sit and questioned on a daily basis.I was hired as an assistant sales manager, not an entry level telemarketer. If i had been given trust and allowed to work as an assistant manager as I had been hired as, I can assure you, you would have been impressed, this is why a previous employer had called me and requested me to come back and work for them, I have a proven sales record which they could see, I'm very professional and always put in 110%. I am reliable and responsible with a perfect attendance record. Unfortunately RAC did not allow me to prove this, nor did they take the time to communicate with me any concerns or questions. Never was there any feed back, motivation, or positivity in the store. After my keys and alarm code were taken I had lost hope. Me being the only one there that was always early and one of the last to leave as well as working a 6th day with no question and one who lives a life revolved around integrity and professionalism was insulted and absolutely appalled by the way I was treated and it comes as no surprise (at least after the fact) that neither the store manager nor yourself didn't so much as ask "why?" I do apologize for not giving a 2 week notice but to be honest, I feared that if I did I would have just been asked to clock out and move on, supporting my opinion of poor communication and unprofessionalism and would have lost out on wages. Also, I was hoping that something would change. I was offered a position with another company and I truly did think it through for a considerable amount of time. I was definitely thinking about giving RAC the benefit of a doubt and "toughing it out" unfortunately as a 37 year old man, I could not see myself being treated this way any longer, I as well as every other RAC coworker deserves respect and appreciation especially if they are honestly giving it their personal best. My opinion to you? please, communicate with your staff, ask questions and request input. After all, there would be no Rent A Center if it were not for the hard working coworkers that make it happen. Also, before accusing anyone of theft quietly behind their back to other coworkers, maybe try communicating with the one in question. I still can not believe that it was actually thought I may actually have some involvement. Beyond belief. Good Luck. Best Regards, Justin C. Nantell | (hidden)

General profile image

Anonymous - 8 d 10 h ago

0

Rent a center is a rip off. I bought a 7 piece bedroom set a few years ago. I paid it off....I had to move recently and ordered another one...this time they did not add a night stand, a dress and no box spring and mattress, yet they call it a 7 piece bedroom set. They actually call parts of the bed frame a part of the package. Bed frame parts cannot be separated a part. the coporate office is insulated from those straw bosses in the local offices.

General profile image

Anonymous - 8 d 17 h ago

1

Horrible worst possible customer service ever

I will never do business with this company

I got my TV late then my bed late

Yet the store calls me

General profile image

Mom92345 - 9 d 8 h ago

1

I have been making payment on a faulty item, they tried to fix the item.. still broken.. they advised me how to fix it. Still didn't work. They picked up the item and now won't replaced or give me credit when I've paid over 800$. All I can do it go to small claims.

General profile image

RAC 1408 Tallahasee Hwy Ste1 Bainbridge Ga 39819 - 10 d 11 h ago

5

Rent a Center associate Oscar Hernandez. Sorry I have taken so long to thank Oscar for his excellent service in our time of much stress. He went above and beyond on the 9th of September when he took the bull by the horns and did everything required for the rental of a rocker. (which my wife needed very badly) for sleeping. Oscar made sure the item was delivered to the HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS and the next morning he picked it up and moved it down the road to the HAMPTON INN. Again we express our most sincere thanks to Oscar. John and Jeannette Murphy 9734 Gulfstream Blvd Englewood Fl 34224 (941) 720-2833

General profile image

JO - 10 d 12 h ago

0

My daughter has had her 2 TV's for over 2 years and only has a few payments left. The store in DC she originally has her contract through moved to Maryland. The now have a new store manager, Donovan (no last name given) who texted her from his personal phone threatening her that he has cancelled her contract because she missed a payment and wants her to get a new rental contract so that they can get more money from her. I contacted him and was told that he could not give me any information but they have taken money from me in the past for her account. We asked how much she still owed on the TV's several times and keep getting the runaround. The original sale price was $1800 but the final cost is over $3000. We are sure she has paid this off by now, along with late fees and the fee for making payments over the phone, but Donovan does not seem to care at this point and said "it's nothing personal, just doing my job."

General profile image

Robin J - 12 d 7 h ago

Poor service

General profile image

Leonard - 61 d 6 h ago

I was just wondering why your corporation does not report to the three major credit bureaus. I believe it is unfair for those who pay on time and have purchase multiple merchandise from Rent A Center. What really alarms me is that I go online to pay my account once in awhile and find out that my contract does not add up to what I actually pay in the store the store is actually charging 50 dollars more. I don't know if many people who use your services are aware.

General profile image

Kim Griffith - 58 d 8 h ago

0

They took more off my credit card then authorized and I only had $40.00 left on of my punt they told me 124.00 left I paid way more then even priced when I agreed they are pocketing money and I am contacting a lawyer and when I paid off she didn't and would give my reciept

General profile image

Rac - 50 d 5 h ago

Pay ur stuff on time and you will never have a problem.

General profile image

Anonymous - 47 d 9 h ago

I love how the answer is pay your bill. If no one got your junk you wouldn't have a job.

General profile image

Anonymous - 24 d ago

I agree with you. They call and harass you when your bill is due when it really is not. They are notorious.

General profile image

Polly - 18 d 20 s ago

0

They're getting behind annoying. They mailed me a letter that was just rude! Ive emailed and called numerous times to tell them u just started a new job and could finish paying in 2 weeks and they're threatening to take my product back. I only have 2 payments left!

General profile image

Anonymous - 39 d 8 h ago

some of your employees dont pay they own bills

General profile image

War Lord - 34 d 9 h ago

1

Whatever, we pay our bill on time every week. We scheduled a pick-up time for 2 items that we no longer want because of the constant calling on the telephone to remind us of the pmt. coming due. WE ARE AWARE OF THE WEEKLY PMT!!! NO NEED TO KEEP BUGGING EVERY HOUR ON THE HOUR. SOME PPL WORK FOR A LIVING. When RAC came to pick up the items, RAC only picked up ONE item and not the other. WHY?? Do YOUR jobs RAC. When I called to ask WHY the other item was not picked up I spoke to the MGR. Justin and he was a rude ass punk who said I wasn't on the account... Hmmm Really? But you take my money every week and scheduled a pick up date & time right from me in person..? Now I'm not on my husband's acct. WOW, what a joke you are Justin. Wheres your Customer Service Skills & So Called Manager Skills. I (WE) better not get charged another week since RAC did not follow my instructions to Pick the Dam thing up. Never Again Will I use these ppl.

General profile image

Never again Rent-a-Center customer - 32 d 11 h ago

0

Hire some employees that ain't going to bring some dirty ass machines to people's houses and actually bring machines that work and people might pay their bill on time smartass

General profile image

connie - 31 d 11 h ago

0

No you will have a problem they will charge for damm. Ins. Every week then when something happens they say oh ins.doesnt pay for that a rip off

General profile image

Brian Lee jones - 30 d 7 h ago

0

What a dick....

General profile image

Anonymous - 25 d 8 m ago

0

These people have paid Y 3 to 4 times over the Price y sales are! Stop Cheating the customers out of their hard earned money! Iam Sure y owe some one too & not always pay yr bills on time Either! Help the customers & be Fair Too.Very disappointed in RAC for the cruelty towards Yr customers!

Other Reviews & Comments

AOL
CHARLES JOHNSTON Been a customer [cust, herein] for more than 20 years. Reps ... 

Ford Motor Company
Tom Pearson I have driven Fords and owned Ford stock for over 55 years. ... 

Cricket Communications, Inc.
Louis So I got in the phone today to set up a bridge pay and afte ... 

The TJX Companies, Inc.
Anonymous You fire long term employees that are in the lowest time in ... 

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.
Velinda Bass Mr Duke,I had contacted an office of complaints about. a mo ... 

Dollar General
Anonymous That's all dhd

Dish Network
Lorene Bradford First you can cancel the appointment for the tech on the 22 ... 

AT&T
Pat Lynch My name is Thomas P (Pat) Lynch, for customer id purposes,  ... 

Cheddars
Anonymous My family and I went to Chedders I Webster Tx.tonight party ... 

Days Inn Worldwide, Inc.
James Pope I went to the Day's Inn, in Norman, Ok and was going to sta ... 

AppleBee's
Denita Brown Had a horrible experience your Hostess Nicole on Thompson L ... 

Costco
Alexander Good riddens. Btw, California was Hispanic way before immig ... 

Safeway, Inc.
Kyle Tipton I was standing at the check out stand with a line of pepole ... 

Cox Communications, Inc.
John Someone there should refrase your commercials. You say if I ... 

General Motors
JMoss The Ford Motor Company has taken a stance and decided to su ... 

Domino's Pizza, Inc.
Karen Krc So the result was the store DID BRING A DECENT ORDER OF Car ... 

Chrysler Group LLC
JMoss The Ford Motor Company has taken a stance and decided to su ... 

J. C. Penney Corporation, Inc.
Anonymous Jc penny in Trumbull has the worst customer service special ... 

Greyhound Lines, Inc.
VIOLATED WHILE AWAITING MY DEPARTING COACH IAT GREYHOUND LOCATION IN ... 

Delta Airlines
Never fly Delta again I agree totally with working class not to let your passenge ... 

Vistaprint Usa, Incorporated
Anonymous Excellent Service !!!

Fox News Network, LLC
Kyle Audrey-

Bank of America Corporation
Your not GOD If your gonna take (steal) money from people's account your ... 

Ross Stores
Anonymous No where on the receipt does it say you need an id for a re ... 

Kohls
Joe On September 2, 2017 I made an online purchase of two shirt ... 

Amazon
Susan Coleman Small Just spoke to someone who does not care, hard to understand ... 

United Parcel Service, Inc.
Anonymous There absolutely no customer service at UPS. SUPERVISOR Cin ... 

Citigroup Inc.
Jan Herman I was denied the $500 promotion amount for opening a checki ... 

Outback Steakhouse
The Hylton's Exceptional customer service--While traveling cross country ... 

Pep Boys
sheena brown I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS PARTICULAR STORE A FEW TIMES  ... 

Google Inc.
Craig B Hi, I am a certified Personal Trainer and Licensed Massage  ... 

McDonald's Corporation
Dave S. Dear sirs:

Taco Bell Corp.
NikOTym Taco Bell sucks! Does not conduct business hours with the p ... 

Mercedes-Benz USA, Inc.
dbagley106 De'Laine Bagley 1644 W 106th, Los Angeles, CA 90047 (hidden ... 

Petsmart, Inc.
Bombon My pet was groomed at the Bloomingdale location last Saturd ... 

Food Network
Anonymous Food net work why don't you go on beat Bobby flay an see if ... 

American Airlines
Ed and Sandy Martha,

Rite Aid
ken so me and two other customers in line only one clerk servin ... 

Church's Chicken
Kimberly Reid I was wondering why Church's Chicken throws all their chick ... 

7-Eleven, Inc.
Dana Hello i am a customer of 7 11 I am totally shock when i cam ... 

Ashley Furniture
Ron B. I wish I had read the reviews before I ordered.

Barnes & Noble
Anonymous I came here to get the email address for this company. It's ... 

Honda Motor Company
PhyllisS I have owned 8 Honda products. Was going to buy a Ford this ... 

Groupon, Inc.
Helen HORRIBLE COMPANY - I am an 80 year old widow on fixed incom ... 

Lg Electronics USA
Matt Bilger Consumer beware do not buy Oled tv same problem as plasm Bu ... 

Big Lots
Frenchy Hello I'm Michael pisani my employer no was 1745894 I like  ... 

Spirit Airlines
Anonymous I WILL NEVER EVER EVER FLY OR RECOMMEND SPIRIT TO ANYONE!!! ... 

LA Fitness
Shantel you need to call your credit card company. it is also worth ... 

Dillard's Inc
Gussie Woodward I returned a pair of shoes of shoes to a local Dillard's he ... 

Placeholder advertisement